Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Cracker Jacks

The original Cracker Jack is manufactured by the Frito Lay Company.  Although Cracker Jacks do not contain any gluten containing ingredients, they are manufactured in a shared facility on production lines that manufacture other products containing wheat and/or gluten.
I am impressed by the Frito Lay website and their comprehensive lists of their U.S. - Gluten Free Products and U.S. Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients.  Frito Lay provides a clear description(disclaimer) of the U.S. Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients stating,
The Frito-Lay products listed below do not contain wheat, rye, barley or oat ingredients (we include oats in this list as a precaution as oats are often commingled with gluten-containing grains).  Please note however, some of the products listed below may be manufactured on the same lines as products that contain gluten.  Although our lines are cleaned between production runs, Frito-Lay has not tested these products for gluten content and the ingredients in these products may have come into contact with gluten-containing products prior to manufacturing.  Individuals who are sensitive to gluten should take these factors into consideration in consuming these products.
Please note: The information provided pertains only to products made and distributed in the U.S. Products sold in other countries under similar brands may be made using slightly different recipes and ingredients to accommodate local needs and preferences. 

In 2011 we reformulated Doritos Nacho Cheese Tortilla Chips to remove wheat from the recipe. While some older packages may show "wheat" on the ingredient statement, please be assured that all Doritos Nacho Cheese Tortilla Chips currently being sold in the US do not contain wheat.
So, if you are gluten sensitive or gluten intolerant - enjoy your Cracker Jacks!  If you have Celiac Disease check out this link and have fun making your own Caramel Popcorn!

No comments:

Post a Comment